Re: International Women's Day - Share Your Story!

Solved! Go to solution
surabhi_prakash
Regular Visitor

I am Software developer at Visa, currently trying my best to be a better full stack developer. Technology has a gender problem, as everyone knows. I work here as a Back-end developer and I still get surprising reactions from people when I say I am a back-end developer. Since you are a female, by default most of people at Visa or outside Visa who don't know anything about you just consider if I am working in a tech company either I am a front-end developer or a QA engineer. It's so annoying sometimes and raise so many questions Can't a female be Back-end Developer ? . I guess at some point the labor market has it's own circular logic: women are front-end developers or QA test engineer because they are weill to this kind of work, and we are typecasting this because women percentage is greater in this area. Here's the problem: the technology enforces a distinct gender hierarchy between front-end and back-end developement. I honestly speaking, it's difficult to strive and get promoted when working as a back-end developer. But actually the stereotype is real and the root causes are much more complicated.

I feel a single day is not enough to bolster the status of women and applaud their achivements. Yet celebrating Women's day gives us an opprtunity to create more awareness about women's issues and provide plarform for discussions. Despite being equally important in the equation of life, women of all cultures and ages had to deal with discrimination and neglect. Today's women is more aware about her rights, more empowered and reaching greater heights. She is still climbing the ladder, tumbling many times and tripped on purpose a hundred thousand times over. In an ideal world everyday is a Women's day but sadly, we do need to mark this day in our calender.