Can't read response body (already consumed?)

Solved! Go to solution
joemjr2
Regular Visitor

Can't read response body (already consumed?)

I am just getting started using Visa Developer. I created project using the Foreign Exchange Rates API. I downloaded the sample code for my project and got it to work.

I am now creating my own application, based on the sample project. I am able to make the request using the VisaAPIClient class, and am able to check the response status code, as in the sample code. However, I am having trouble reading the response body (which the sample code does not do).

Here is my code:

CloseableHttpResponse response = visaAPIClient.doMutualAuthRequest(baseUri + resourcePath, "Foreign Exchange Test", foreignExchangeRequest, MethodTypes.POST, new HashMap<String, String>());

int responseStatus = response.getStatusLine().getStatusCode();
        if (responseStatus != HttpStatus.SC_OK)
        {
        	throw new Exception("Visa API request failed: " + responseStatus);
        }

BufferedReader reader = new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader(response.getEntity().getContent(), "UTF-8"));
        String responseBody = reader.readLine();

response.close();

On the call to reader.readLine(), I get the following exception:

Exception in thread "main" java.io.IOException: Attempted read from closed stream.
	at org.apache.http.impl.io.ContentLengthInputStream.read(ContentLengthInputStream.java:167)
	at org.apache.http.conn.EofSensorInputStream.read(EofSensorInputStream.java:137)
	at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.readBytes(Unknown Source)
	at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.implRead(Unknown Source)
	at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.read(Unknown Source)
	at java.io.InputStreamReader.read(Unknown Source)
	at java.io.BufferedReader.fill(Unknown Source)
	at java.io.BufferedReader.readLine(Unknown Source)
	at java.io.BufferedReader.readLine(Unknown Source)
	at DCCMain.postRequestVisa(DCCMain.java:70)
	at DCCMain.main(DCCMain.java:107)